U.S. Notary Association offers notary commission training in many states. Enjoy a single location to ensure you have all of your specific state requirements for training, testing and supplies at a reasonable cost. Here is a one-stop site to assist you with starting a successful notary signing career.

If you are interested in becoming a notary, select your home state from the menu below, and you will be directed to information regarding becoming a notary in your state, as well as links to supplies and training where available.

 

Select a State:   

 

 


 

Alabama

Notaries in the State of Alabama are appointed and commissioned by the probate judges of the various counties. The probate judge reports to the Secretary of State the name, county of residence, date of issuance and date of expiration of the commission of each notary appointed and commissioned under applicable law.

 

To become a notary, individuals must meet all of their states' qualifications, submit an application and qualify for a $25,000 bond. Each probate judge sets application rules and procedures to go along with this process set by state law. For information on being appointed a notary public, please contact the probate judge for your county. 

Shop here

http://sos.alabama.gov/city-county-lookup 

Back to Top

 

 


 

Alaska

To apply for a regular notary commission, please acquire and submit the following materials:

  1. A new notary bond (see instructions below for more information).
  2. A completed application form.
  3. $40.00 application fee (checks payable to “State of Alaska,” we also accept Visa and Mastercard). 

 

These materials should be submitted together to avoid any delay in processing your application.

Applicants who have internet access, active myAlaska accounts, the ability to receive email messages and scan documents and who can pay the $40.00 application fee with Visa or Mastercard may now apply online through the state’s online notary database web application available at http://notaries.alaska.gov.

Shop here

Back to Top

 

 


 

Arizona

The Secretary of State records and maintains notary public commissions in Arizona. A notary public witnesses signatures and verifies identities of signers and must be impartial.

 

Every state commissions notaries; however, every state allows notaries to perform different functions. In Arizona, notaries can perform only acknowledgments, jurats, copy certifications, and oaths and affirmations. Samples of each can be found in our Notary Public Reference Manual.

 

An Arizona notary must meet several basic requirements. These requirements will be reviewed and verified in the application process. The office cannot commission someone who does not meet these standards.

Document to File: Notary Public Application and completed notary bond

Filing Fee: Standard application $43. You may expedite your application if you include an additional $25 fee. Checks and money orders can be made out to the “Arizona Secretary of State.” Please do not send cash by mail. We recommend paying with cash for in-person filings only.

Commission Length: 4 years

Processing time: 3-4 weeks. Expedited applications are processed within 1-2 days from when we receive your application.

  • You must submit these three* items together:
    • Original signed Notary Application
    • Original notarized Notary Bond
    • $43 filing fee

 

Shop here

https://azsos.gov/sites/default/files/Notary_Manual_and_Cover_January_2019.pdf

 

Back to Top

 

 


 

Arkansas

Under Arkansas law, a notary public is appointed and commissioned by the Secretary of State.  The following are requirements to become a notary public for the State of Arkansas.

 

  • The applicant must be a legal resident of Arkansas, or a legal resident of an adjoining state and employed in Arkansas. The commission will be issued for the county of residence or, in the case of out-of-state notaries, the county of employment and will be valid for the entire state.
  • The applicant must be a United States citizen or a permanent resident alien. In the case of a permanent resident alien, a Declaration of Domicile form must be included with the application. 
  • The applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years old.
  • The applicant must be able to read and write English.
  • The applicant must not have had a prior notary commission revoked in the past ten (10) years.
  • The applicant must either reside in or be employed in the State of Arkansas.

Arkansas notaries public are appointed for a commission term of ten (10) years.

Shop here

http://www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/Pages/notaryPublic.aspx.

Back to Top

 

 


 

California

California Notaries Public are commissioned by the Secretary of State. The following are California's requirements to become a Notary Public.

To become a notary public, you must meet all of the following requirements:

  • be 18 years of age or older (there is no maximum age set by statute)
  • be a legal California resident
  • complete a course of study approved by the Secretary of State
  • satisfactorily complete and pass a written examination prescribed by the Secretary of State
  • clear a background check

 

Check List

The following is a check list identifying the steps that must be completed to obtain a notary public commission:

 

  1. Complete Approved Education
  2. Register for the Exam
  3. Take the Exam
  4. Submit Fingerprints via Live Scan
  5. Await Commission Packet
  6. Purchase Notary Public Materials
  7. File Notary Public Oath & Bond 

 

Shop here

https://www.sos.ca.gov/notary/qualifications/

Back to Top

 

 


 

Colorado

Colorado Notaries Public are commissioned by the Secretary of State.

 

An applicant for a commission as a notary public must:

  • Be at least eighteen years of age
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States or otherwise lawfully present in the United States
  • Be a resident of or have a place of employment or practice in this state
  • Be able to read and write English
  • Not be disqualified to receive a commission
  • Have passed the examination required
  • Before issuance of a commission as a notary public, an applicant for the commission shall take the following affirmation in the presence of a person qualified to administer an affirmation in this state

 

Checklist of items needed in order to register as a notary:

This checklist is to help you gather all of your documents before you start your filing. The following documents must be scanned and uploaded during the application filing process:

  • Affirmation

Signed by you in front of a notary.

  • ID card

One of the following types of ID:

Front and back of a current Colorado driver’s license or Colorado ID card.

Signed U.S. passport.

Current Bureau of Indian Affairs Card or Tribal ID.

Current military ID card or common access card that has your photograph.

Out of state driver’s license or state ID card.

Copy of both sides. Make sure that the information on your ID is legible, and that the scan is right-side up.

 

If you have a Colorado driver's license or ID card (issued by the Dept. of Revenue), you can enter your ID number during the Attachments step instead of scanning and attaching a copy.

  • Training certificate

Notary public training certificate from a state - approved trainer issued within the last 90 days. Certificate must show:

Name of vendor

Name of student

Course name

Date of completion

Note stating certificate is only valid for 90 days after issuance

Accreditation seal - if training was completed through an approved training vendor.

  • Exam certificate

Notary exam certificate issued by our office within the last 90 days. Do not attach printouts of the exam questions.

Print your certificate showing that you passed.

Tip: After finishing the test, close the testing window. Then, under the “Achievements” heading, click on "Print".

Shop here

https://www.sos.state.co.us/notary/pages/common/intro.xhtml

Back to Top

 

 


 

Connecticut

The Office of the Secretary of the State, Business Services Division, licenses all notaries public in the state.

Any person eighteen years of age or older, who either resides in, or has a principal place of business in Connecticut may apply for appointment as a Notary Public.

 All applicants must submit a completed application form, pay the application fee of $120.00, and pass a written examination administered by the Secretary of the State's Office.  The examination is contained in the application form and the applicant completes the examination under oath.  Successful applicants will receive a certificate of appointment.

Notaries in the State of Connecticut are appointed for terms of five (5) years.

All notaries, whether new or renewal appointments must take an oath of office before they can perform any notarial acts.  The notary's certificate of appointment contains a panel for recording the administration of the oath.   The oath may be administered by any official having the authority to administer oaths, but notary's may find it convenient to take the oath of office from the town clerk at the same time they record their certificate, as town clerks are authorized to administer oaths.

 If the notary is a resident of Connecticut, the oath and notary certificate must be recorded with the town clerk in the town in which the notary resides.  Nonresidents must record with the town clerk of the town where their principal place of business is in Connecticut, must also record their oath of office and certificate.  That recording is made with the town clerk of the town in which their place of business is located.  It is very important for all notaries to remember these requirements, which must be completed within 30 days of receiving the Certificate of Appointment.

Shop here

https://portal.ct.gov/SOTS/Commercial-Recording/Notary/Notary-Public-Licensing

Back to Top

 

 


 

Delaware

Notary applications and renewals are now submitted online. As part of this online process, an email address will be required since all correspondence, including commission certificates and renewal notices will be sent electronically by email. Applicants will receive further instructions and information by email throughout the application process. During the application process, each notary applicant will establish a notary profile which will be used to track the status of applications, and update information and renew commissions in the future.

During the application process, you must answer every question marked with an asterisk (*). Answers you provide will direct you to the next relevant question. If you are not sure how to answer a question, simply mouse-click inside the answer field and question-specific assistance will appear in the “HELP” box to the right of the question.

Answer each of the questions truthfully. False statements or misrepresentations will subject you to a claim of perjury under Delaware law. 

Every notary applicant must meet all of the following requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must be of good character and reputation – Individuals convicted of a felony who have not had their rights restored as well as applicants convicted of a crime involving dishonesty or moral turpitude are not eligible for a Delaware notary commission.
  • Must have a reasonable need for a notary commission
  • Must have a legal residence with a street address in Delaware OR maintain an office or regular place of employment within the State of Delaware. NOTE: Notaries are NOT permitted to notarize outside of the boundaries of the State of Delaware. In order to qualify, non-resident notaries must demonstrate they would regularly conduct notarial acts in the State of Delaware and provide a valid Delaware business address for the employer or company where service of legal process would be accepted. Use of a post office box, virtual office space, or a registered agent does NOT qualify.

 

 

Shop here

https://notary.delaware.gov/apply-notary-commission/

Back to Top

 

 


 

District of Columbia

In Washington DC, notaries public are commissioned by the Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications.

How to Become a Notary Public:

Applicants must be at least 18 years of age, be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States, residents of the District of Columbia (if applying for a residential commission), or may be residents of other jurisdictions whose primary place of business or employment is located in the District of Columbia (if applying for a business or government commission).  If applying for a dual commission, the applicant must both live in DC and have a primary place of business or employment in DC.

Notary Commissions in the District of Columbia are for five (5) year terms, beginning on the 1st and 15th of each month (except January 2nd) and ending on the 14th and last day of each month (except January 1st).

The non-refundable application fee for new and application renewals is $75.  ONCA accepts checks, money orders, VISA, Master Card, Discover or American Express. No cash is accepted. Checks or money orders must be from a US Financial Institution in US dollars payable to “DC Treasurer.”  The process to become a notary public takes about 45 - 60 days once the application is deemed sufficient.  

Notary Application:

The application may then be submitted online or printed out and mailed to the office.  The application fee may now be paid online by credit card.  If you choose to print it and either mail it in with a check or come into the office, this may delay the process.

You must read the instructions before you fill out the application completely and accurately or it will be returned for correction.

All applicants to become a notary public for the first time or those who have not renewed their commission in over 12 months must attend an orientation session.

Once your application has been processed (and when necessary orientation has been completed), all applicants will receive an Appointment Notice from our office, approximately two weeks prior to their commission date. This is the formal notification that allows you to purchase your notary supplies and (when applicable) your surety bond.

You may not purchase these until you have received your Appointment Notice. For new applicants, your commissioning date and date for the Appointment Notice will be stated during the orientation session; for renewal applicants please see the link above. If you have been working with an outside organization on your application and to receive supplies you may receive some non-date specific supplies in advance, but you may not receive any supplies with your commission dates or the surety bond form prior to receiving the Appointment Notice and surety bond form from our office. Our office will only accept the surety bond form supplied from our office.

New applicants and those who be renewing after January 2019 will be required to purchase a new notary certificate/stamp. Please see the Notary Public Handbook for the samples and new language.

        

Once you receive your Appointment Notice, you will have sixty (60) days from the effective date of your commission to come into the ONCA office and complete the oath of office. Failure to do so will result in cancellation of your commission and you will have to re-apply.

Shop here

https://os.dc.gov/service/notary-commissions

Back to Top

 

 


 

Florida

In Florida, notaries are public officers appointed by the Governor at his discretion.

The Governor may appoint as many notaries public as he or she deems necessary, each of whom shall be at least 18 years of age and a legal resident of the state. A permanent resident alien may apply and be appointed and shall file with his or her application a recorded Declaration of Domicile. The residence required for appointment must be maintained throughout the term of appointment. Notaries public shall be appointed for 4 years and shall use and exercise the office of notary public within the boundaries of this state. An applicant must be able to read, write, and understand the English language.

  1. Take the notary education course. A first time applicant for a notary commission must submit proof that the applicant has, within one year prior to the application, completed at least three hours of interactive or classroom instruction. The Department of State’s Notary Education Program satisfies this requirement, and can be taken online, free of charge, at http://notaries.dos.state.fl.us. A list of other can be found at approved education providers.

 

  1. Contact a bonding agency. After successfully completing an education course, you must contact one of the bonding agencies that are approved to operate in Florida. Most of these companies provide “one-stop-shopping.” You make one payment to the company and they provide the application, pay the state fees, write your notary bond, and supply your notary seal. The bonding agencies provide the surety bond that is required for notaries public to obtain a commission. (Note that the bond is designed to protect the public against notarial misconduct or negligence, not the notary.) You can find a list of the approved bonding agencies.

We recommend that you check with several companies to compare services and prices. The state fees of $39 are fixed by law, but the bond premium and the notary seal are competitively priced. Please note that the State does not give out applications or provide notary seals.

  1. Complete the application. Provide all of the information requested on the application form, which will be provided to you by the bonding agency you choose. If there is any information missing, your application will be returned to the bonding agency until all necessary materials have been submitted. If you have been convicted of a felony, had adjudication withheld, or are on probation, you must submit the following documents:
    1. A written statement regarding the nature and circumstances of the charges;
    2. A copy of the Judgment and Sentencing Order; and,
    3. If convicted, a copy of the Certification of Restoration of Civil Rights (or pardon). The name of this document may vary depending on the state where the conviction occurred.
  2. Submit the application through your bonding agency. Once your application has been fully completed, you must submit your application to your bonding agency. They will forward your application to the State for review. To check the status of your application, please contact your bonding agency.

 

Shop here

http://floridasecretaryofstate.com/state-of-florida-notary-public/

Back to Top

 

 


 

Georgia

In Georgia, notaries public are commissioned for a four-year term by the Clerk of Superior Court in their county of residence. Georgia also allows residents of neighboring states to apply to become notaries public. These out-of-state residents must own a business in Georgia or be regularly employed in Georgia and must apply with the Clerk of Superior Court in the county where they own a business or are employed. 

 

Fee: 
The fee for a new notary appointment or for reappointment is $37.00 - $52.00. Please check with the county in which you are applying for the exact fee.

Jurisdiction: 
Georgia notaries public may perform notarial acts anywhere within the State of Georgia.

 

Qualifications to become a notary in Georgia:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Be a citizen of the United States or a legal resident of the United States.
  • Be a legal resident of the county in which he or she applies (or, if a non-Georgia resident, you must reside in a state bordering Georgia and carry on a business or profession in Georgia or be regularly employed in the Georgia county of application).
  • Have, and provide at the time of application, the applicant's operating telephone number.
  • Be able to read and write English.

Overview:

  • Complete a notary application and bring it to the Clerk of Superior Court in your county of residence. (Note the neighboring-state resident provision above.)
  • Pay the application fee and take the oath of office.
  • The clerk's office issues a notary certificate of appointment.
  • Purchase a notary seal (metal emboss type or rubber ink stamp) from an office supply store or from a notary trade association.

 

Shop here

https://www.gsccca.org/notary-and-apostilles/notaries/general-notary-information

Back to Top

 

 


 

Hawaii

In Hawaii, notaries public are commissioned by the Attorney General’s office.

1. Every person appointed as a notary public shall, at the time of one’s appointment, be a resident of the State of Hawaii, possess the other qualifications required of public officers, and be at least eighteen years of age. Public Officers in the State are required to be United States citizens.

2. A person desiring to be commissioned as a notary public shall apply online at notary.ehawaii.gov along with supporting documents.

3. If an application is approved by the Attorney General, the applicant must pass a written, closed-book examination covering such statutory laws and rules that specifically apply to notaries pubic in Hawaii, as well as practical aspects of a notary’s practice, and a notary’s duties and responsibilities. The State of Hawaii, Department of the Attorney General’s Notary Office Training Sessions will be held each month.  You will only be allowed to attend each session once, as to give others a chance to attend the sessions as well.

4. Upon being notified of passing the examination, the applicant shall pay to the Attorney General, for the issuance of the original commission, a fee of $100.00. The applicant shall also arrange to have a seal of office made, on which shall be engraved the notary’s name, commission number, and the words, “Notary Public” and “State of Hawaii”.

5. Before entering upon the duties of office, a notary must execute, at the notary’s own expense, an official surety bond meeting the requirements of Section 456-5, Hawaii Revised Statues. The bond must be approved by a judge of the circuit court. Upon approval, the bond shall be deposited and kept on file in the office of the clerk of the circuit court of the judicial circuit for and which the notary resides.

6. Each person appointed and commissioned as a notary public must forthwith file a literal or photostatic copy of one’s commission, an impression of one’s seal, and a specimen of one’s official signature with the clerk of the circuit court in which the notary resides. Each person may also, at one’s option, file the above-named documents with the clerk of any circuit court. The clerk of each circuit court charges a fee for the filing of the copy of a commission.

7. A Notary Public Manual, published by the Department of the Attorney General, is available on the notary website and is strongly recommended as reading material for all potential notaries.

Shop here

http://ag.hawaii.gov/notaries-public/

Back to Top

 

 


 

Idaho

In Idaho, notaries public are commissioned by the Secretary of State.

To become a notary public, one must:

• Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States

• Be at least 18 years of age

• Be a resident of, or have a place of employment or place of practice in, Idaho

• Be able to read and write

The basic process for obtaining a commission involves these three steps:

1. Obtain a notary surety bond from a licensed bonding agent (usually an insurance agent)

2. Complete the online application, print it out, and have it notarized

3. Send the application, the original bond, and the $30 filing fee to the Secretary of State’s office

The term of office for a notary public is six years.

Shop here

https://sos.idaho.gov/notary/index.html

Back to Top

 

 


 

Illinois

Notaries are appointed by the Secretary of State for a four year term. An applicant for an appointment must be a citizen of the United States or an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence, be a resident of the State of Illinois for at least 30 days, be at least 18 years of age, be able to read and write the English language, have not been convicted of a felony, and have not had a notary commission revoked during the past 10 years.

 

An applicant must complete the application form provided by the Secretary of State and must obtain a notary bond valued at $5,000 from a bonding or surety company. Once approved the commission will be mailed to the county clerk in which the applicant resides. There it must be recorded before the applicant is officially a notary.

Shop here

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/index/notary/home.html

Back to Top

 

 


 

Indiana

In Indiana, a notary public is commissioned to an eight-year term by the governor.

In order to qualify for an Indiana notary public commission, the applicant must meet the following criteria at the time of application and throughout their term of service:

a) Be at least 18 years of age.

b) Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States. Note: non U.S. citizens must have visa or immigration status allowing permanent residence in the U.S. in order to be eligible to serve as an Indiana notary.

c) Be either: a full-time, permanent resident of the state of Indiana or primarily employed in the state of Indiana. An Indiana notary must continuously maintain their Indiana residency or their Indiana employment. If at any time an Indiana notary ceases to be a full-time resident of the state of Indiana, or, in the case of a non- Revised April 30, 2019 8 resident employee, the Indiana notary ceases to be primarily employed in Indiana, their commission becomes invalid and must be relinquished.

d) Possess an Indiana driver’s license, Indiana non-driver identification card or other acceptable form of identification to prove Indiana residence or possess proof of employment in the State of Indiana.

e) Obtain a $25,000.00 corporate surety bond. “Surety bond” refers to a bond provided by a commercial insurance company or bond company licensed to conduct business in the state of Indiana. Companies offering surety bonds can be identified through an Internet search or by contacting an insurance agent. Before purchasing a surety bond, an applicant should verify that the provider is registered with the Indiana Department of Insurance and authorized to provide bonds in Indiana. The Indiana Secretary of State is authorized to determine if a particular notary bond is acceptable.

All Notary applicants are required to take a notary education course before applying. After the applicant completes the education, the applicant will be required to pass a test. The test is a combination of multiple choice and true/false questions. There are 30 questions on the test. The applicant must get 24 questions correct or 80% to pass.

Notary public application of $10 plus online fees must be paid by credit or debit card to the State of Indiana at the time of submitting of application.

Shop here

https://inbiz.in.gov/certification/notary

Back to Top

 

 


 

Iowa

In Iowa notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

  1. An individual qualified under subsection 2 may apply to the secretary of state for a commission as a notary public. The applicant shall comply with and provide the information required by rules established by the secretary of state and pay an application fee of thirty dollars to the secretary of state.

2. An applicant for a commission as a notary public shall meet all of the following qualifications:

a. Be at least eighteen years of age.

b. Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States.

c. Be a resident of or have a place of employment or practice in this state.

d. Be able to read and write English.

e. Not be disqualified to receive a commission under section 9B.23.

3. Before issuance of a commission as a notary public, an applicant for the commission shall execute an oath of office and submit it to the secretary of state.

4. The secretary of state may appoint as a notary public a resident of a state bordering Iowa if that person’s place of work or business is within the state of Iowa. If a notary public who is a resident of a state bordering Iowa ceases to work or maintain a place of business in Iowa, the notary commission expires.

5. On compliance with this section, the secretary of state shall issue a commission as a notary public to an applicant for a term of three years. The term of a notarial officer who is a resident of a state bordering Iowa and whose place of work or business is in Iowa is one year.

Shop here

https://sos.iowa.gov/business/pdf/applicant.pdf

Back to Top

 

 


 

Kansas

In Kansas notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

Any person, who is at least 18 years of age, and lives in the state of Kansas, or lives in a border state and regularly conducts business or is regularly employed in Kansas, may apply to be appointed as a Kansas notary public. Individuals who have been convicted of a felony or have had a professional license revoked do not qualify for a notary commission.

 

Prior to submitting the form to the Secretary of State's office, the applicant must obtain a good and sufficient bond to the state of Kansas in the sum of $7,500. The bond must be obtained through a commercial surety, usually an insurance company or professional bonding company. The bond ensures that if a notary public fails to properly perform a notarization, the surety will indemnify a third party for any damages caused by the notary's negligence or misconduct.

The applicant must also attach a clear and readable impression of his or her stamp on the application. To be accepted, the notary stamp must include the name of the applicant exactly as it appears on the application; and the words "Notary Public" and "State of Kansas." The stamp may also include a line for an expiration date; however, since the date is assigned by the secretary of state after the application is filed, we recommend that the expiration date be left blank. Finally, the applicant must take the oath of office in front of a notary public, and the notary must complete the oath on the application and sign and affix his or her seal to the application.

Once the Secretary of State's office has received and accepted the application a certificate, wallet card and handbook will be mailed to the home address on the application. Until receipt of the certificate and wallet card, the applicant cannot notarize any documents.

A Kansas notary's commission is good for four years. The certificate and wallet card will include the date that the notary's commission expires. This date must be included in each notarization performed by the notary. The expiration date is determined by the date that the Secretary of State's office files the application, not the date on the bond or the date the application is submitted to our office.

Shop here

http://www.kssos.org/forms/administration/NO.pdf

Back to Top

 

 


 

Kentucky

In Kentucky notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

1. What are the qualifications for a notary public? A notary public must be eighteen (18) years of age, a resident of the county from which he/she makes application or be principally employed in the county from which he/she makes the application, of good moral character and capable of discharging the duties imposed upon him/her by law.

2. How long is a notary commission valid? A notary public’s term of office is four years.

3. What is the fee for becoming a notary? The fee is $10, and all checks should be made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer. Applicants should send the fee along with their application to: Office of the Secretary of State Notary Division PO Box 821 Frankfort, KY 40601

4. What happens after an applicant sends in the application and fee? If the Office of the Secretary of State approves the application and makes the appointment, the certificate of appointment will be sent to the county clerk of the applicant’s residence or the county from which he/she makes application as indicated on the application. Simultaneously, a notice of the appointment will be sent to the applicant’s home address. Within (30) days of receiving this notice, the applicant must go the county clerk’s office and (1) take the oath of office, (2) post bond, and (3) file and record the appointment. The notary applicant will need to obtain the bond prior to going to the county clerk’s office.

5. What happens if the applicant forgets to take the oath and file the bond within the 30-day period? If the applicant fails to take the oath of office and post bond within the 30-day filing period or a reasonable time thereafter, the applicant’s office becomes vacant. If the applicant still wishes to be appointed a notary, he/she will have to send another completed application and pay another $10 fee to the Office of the Secretary of State.

6. What are the bond requirements? Bond requirements vary by county. Please contact the county clerk for specific information.

Shop here

https://sos.ky.gov/bus/businessrecords/notaries/Documents/2018NotaryHandbook.PDF

Back to Top

 

 


 

Louisiana

In Louisiana notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

Any resident citizen or alien of the state, 18 years of age or older, may be appointed a notary public in and for the parish in which they reside provided that they meet the requirements established by Louisiana law.

Notary applicants must be qualified by the Secretary of State's Office and, unless licensed to practice law in Louisiana, must complete the Notary Exam Pre-Assessment as well as take and pass the state notary exam. The pre-assessment is online and must be completed before an applicant can register for the state notary exam. The pre-assessment is mandatory, but only needs to be taken once. The state notary exam is given at least twice a year.

To become an applicant, you are required to complete an Application to Qualify. To qualify, you must: 

  • be registered to vote in the parish in which you seek commission;
  • be a resident citizen or alien of this state;
  • not have been convicted of a felony and not been pardoned; 
  • be able to read, write, speak and be sufficiently knowledgeable of the English language;
  • be 18 years of age or older; and
  • hold a high school diploma, a diploma for completion of a home study program approved by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education or a high school equivalency diploma issued after successfully completing the test of General Educational Development.

When Application to Qualify is approved, you will receive an email containing your applicant ID and an access code to enable you to register online to take the mandatory Notary Exam Pre-Assessment. (If you have taken the pre-assessment, you proceed to register for the state notary exam.) When registration for the pre-assessment is complete, the LSU Center for Assessment and Evaluation will email you login instructions to complete the pre-assessment. Once this office receives your score from LSU OAE, you will be able to register for the state notary exam. This test is an evaluation and does not require a passing score for you to register for the state notary exam.

Once you have received a score on the Notary Exam Pre-Assessment, you can register online to take the state notary exam. The deadline to get your Application to Qualify, Notary Exam Pre-Assessment and Examination Registration completed is 30 days prior to the exam. Please take note that the Application to Qualify must be approved by the Secretary of State's Office and the Notary Exam Pre-Assessment registration and scoring process take approximately one week. It is, therefore, beneficial to the applicant to submit these well in advance of the deadline. Deadline to complete the Pre-Assessment is 37 days prior to the exam.

Shop here

https://coraweb.sos.la.gov/notary/applicationtoqualify.aspx?task=notaryapptoqualify

Back to Top

 

 


 

Maine

In Maine notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

1.         Eligibility for Appointment to a Notary Public commission

 

            Any Maine adult who properly applies for appointment as a Notary Public will be so appointed, with the following provisions:

 

            A.         The applicant must be an adult resident of Maine. An adult is defined as any person who has attained the age of eighteen;

 

            B.         The applicant must be worthy of the public trust. Because certain situations and activities attack the heart of that trust, the appointment will be denied when the following apply:

 

                        1.         If the applicant has been convicted of a crime for which imprisonment may be a penalty, the applicant is ineligible for appointment while on bail, incarcerated, under probation or parole, or

 

                        2.         For five years following the date of release from incarceration or termination of probation or parole, whichever comes last, persons convicted of the following are ineligible for appointment as a Notary Public: (see link below)

 

2.         Procedures for Applying for a Notary Public commission

 

            A.         The applicant must use the latest application form issued by the Secretary of State.

 

            B.         All applications for appointment must be completed by the applicant using any resource material. All questions must be answered and the application returned to the Secretary of State with a fee of $50.00.

                       

            C.         In the presence of a Notary Public, the applicant shall attest that the information contained in the application is accurate and the answers were completed by the applicant. The applicant shall sign the application in the presence of the Notary Public. The Notary Public shall certify this attestation by signing the application; a seal may be used if desired.

 

            D.         The applicant shall obtain the signatures and residences of the following persons in the appropriate places on the application form. Two separate individuals must sign the application:

 

                        1.         A registered Maine voter recommending the application, and attesting to the applicant's capability of performing the duties required of a Notary Public. The registered Maine voter may not act as the Notary Public on this application; and

 

                        2.         A municipal clerk or registrar of voters of the applicant's residence must indicate which office is held and affix the municipal seal The clerk or registrar of voters may act as the Notary Public on this application.

 

            E.          Once the application has been processed by the Secretary of State, the certificate of office and the certificate of qualification will be mailed to the applicant. From the date of appointment, as listed on the certificate of qualification, the applicant has 30 calendar days to be sworn into office by a Dedimus Justice, and 45 days from the date of appointment to return the completed certificate of qualification to the Secretary of State. If the applicant has not been sworn into office by the 31st day, the Secretary of State will notify the applicant of the failure to qualify . If the completed certificate of qualification has not been received by the Secretary of State by the 45th day, the Secretary of State will notify the applicant of failure to qualify. From the date of that notification, the applicant has 90 calendar days to request a reappointment by the Secretary of State. From the date of reappointment, the applicant has 30 calendar days to be sworn into office by a Dedimus Justice. If the applicant does not request a reappointment within 90 days from the date of notification of failure to qualify, the applicant must begin the application process from the beginning.

Shop here

https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/notary/notaries.html

Back to Top

 

 


 

Maryland

In Maryland notaries public are appointed by the Governor.

Who may apply for appointment as a notary public?

Any person who is:

a. At least 18 years of age;

b. Of known good character, integrity and abilities; and

c. Living or working in the State of Maryland.

 

After appointment by the Governor, a commission (the written statement of the appointment) is prepared. The commission is sealed with the Great Seal of the State and is signed by the Governor and Secretary of State. The State of Maryland does not issue commission numbers for notaries public. The applicant is then notified to appear before the Clerk of the Circuit Court of the County, or Baltimore City, where the applicant resides. Out-of-State applicants appear before the Clerk of the Circuit Court of the County, or Baltimore City, in which the endorsing Senator has jurisdiction.

 

The appointee must pay a fee of $10.00 for the commission and $1.00 registration fee to the Clerk and take the oath of office. The appointee then receives the commission and is qualified to act as a notary public.

 

A notary public commission is valid from the time the person takes the oath of office before the Clerk of the Circuit Court until four years from the date the commission was issued. The expiration date is shown on each commission.

Shop here

https://www.egov.maryland.gov/sos/notary/#/home

 

Back to Top

 

 


 

Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of the Commonwealth.

If you wish to become a notary public, you must be at least 18 years old and live or work in the Commonwealth. You must also complete the application, which requires you to obtain 4 signatures of known and respected members of your community.

Applicants must also read Chapter 222 of the General Laws, as amended by Chapter 289 of the Acts of 2016, and agree to comply with all of its terms.

A fee of $60 is charged by the Secretary of the Commonwealth upon qualification. You will not need to pay this fee until you receive notification that your application has been approved by the Governor and the Governor's Council.

Shop here

https://www.mass.gov/how-to/apply-to-become-a-notary-public

Back to Top

 

 


 

Michigan

In Michigan, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

You must:

  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Be a Michigan resident or maintain a place of business in Michigan;
  • Be a U.S. citizen or possess proof of legal presence;
  • Be a resident of the county in which you request appointment (if you do not reside in Michigan, maintain a principal place of business in the county you request appointment);
  • Read and write in the English language;
  • Be free of any felony convictions within the past 10 years (if previously convicted of a felony, the 10-year period includes completion of the sentence for that crime, any term of imprisonment, parole, or probation, and payment of all fines, costs, and assessments);
  • Have not been convicted of 2 or more misdemeanor offenses involving a violation of the Michigan Notary Public Act within a 12-month period while commissioned, or 3 or more misdemeanor offenses involving a violation of this Act within a 5-year period regardless of being commissioned;
  • Have filed with the appropriate county clerk a proper surety bond in the amount of $10,000 and taken the oath of office as prescribed by the State Constitution;
  • Sign a declaration that all information on your application for Michigan Notary Public Commission is correct, that you have read the Michigan Notary Public Act, and that you will perform all notarial acts faithfully;
  • Any individual currently serving a term of imprisonment in any state, county or federal correctional facility is prohibited from being appointed or serving as a notary public.

Steps to become a Notary Public:

            Complete application

Notaries public are required to obtain a $10,000 surety bond and file it at the office of the county clerk in the county where the notary will be appointed.

Give your oath of office at your county clerk's office when you file your bond.

 

Each notary public commission is for a 6 to 7 year period ending on the notary's birthday. The term is not less than 6 or more than 7 years from the date of appointment. There is no renewal process so you must apply for a new commission when your current commission expires. 

Your notary commission is a statewide appointment. Once appointed, you may notarize anywhere within the State of Michigan.

Shop here

https://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-1640_1638_8736-85780--,00.html

Back to Top

 

 


 

Minnesota

In Minnesota, notaries public are appointed by the Governor.

To obtain a New Commission, the applicant must:

  • Not have held a previous commission that has expired
  • Complete and mail the Notary Application
  • Pay the $120 non-refundable fee
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be either a Minnesota resident or a resident of a county in Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota or Wisconsin and list the Minnesota County he or she will be filing in upon receiving their commission.

If you have a commission which is expired, you must complete a Notary Application, check Re-appointment on the application, and submit by mail.

Once your new commission has been approved by the Secretary of State your commission certificate will be sent by US mail to your residential address. You must register your commission with your county of residence. County contact information for your county of residence is included in the commission certificate instructions. The fee for recording your commission at the county is $20. 

Shop here

https://www.sos.state.mn.us/notary-apostille/become-a-notary/

Back to Top

 

 


 

Mississippi

In Mississippi, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

 Commission term is four (4) years commencing on the commission’s effective date 7 and terminating on its expiration date

A person qualified for a notary commission shall:

1. be at least eighteen (18) years of age;

2. a resident of the State of Mississippi and have resided in the county of residence for least thirty (30) days prior to the submission of the application;

3. a citizen or legal resident of the United States;

4. read and write English; and

5. not be convicted of a felony.

 

Every application for a notary commission shall be made on SOS Form NP 001, Application for Notary Public Commission, and include:

A. a statement of the applicant’s personal qualifications, as described in this Chapter;

B. the required surety bond in the amount of Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) from a surety licensed by the Mississippi Department of Insurance;

C. the official oath of office;

D. such other information as the Secretary of State may deem appropriate; and

E. the application fee of $25.

Shop here

http://www.sos.ms.gov/BusinessServices/Pages/Notary-Rules-Regulations.aspx

Back to Top

 

 


 

Missouri

In Missouri, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

To qualify for a notary commission as a Missouri resident, an applicant must meet certain legal qualifications:

  1. Be at least 18 years of age;
  2. Be a registered voter of the county within and for which the applicant is to be commissioned, or a resident alien of the United States;
  3. Apply for the county in which they legally reside and be commissioned for this same county;
  4. Be able to read and write the English language; and
  5. Must not have had a commission revoked during the past ten years.

Any person is eligible to apply for a commission as a notary public if they are a permanent resident alien under Section 245 of the Immigration and Nationality Act. If the applicant qualifies under Section 245, they must send a copy of their “green card” with a completed application to our office.

The following steps must be taken:

Register with the Secretary of State

Read the Missouri Notary Public Handbook.

Take the online training course or written training course.

Apply (online or by mail) for a commission.
Purchase a notary public surety bond.

Qualify at your local county clerk's office.

Shop here

https://s1.sos.mo.gov/Business/Notary/Login/Register.aspx                                 

Back to Top

 

 


 

Montana

In Montana, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

To become a Montana Notary Public, you must meet the following qualifications:

  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States;
  • Be a resident of or have a place of employment or practice in Montana;
  • Be able to read and write English; and
  • Not have been disqualified to receive a commission as provided in 1-5-621, MCA.

If you meet the qualifications to become a Montana Notary Public, you may apply for a four-year notary public commission by following the steps below.

New Notary Applicants Please Note: You must pass the Montana Notary Exam before you may be commissioned as a Montana Notary Public.

Step 1
Obtain a Notary Surety Bond in the amount of $10,000.

Your bond effective date, if the bond has one, must be within 30 days before or after the date your Application for Appointment as a Montana Notary Public is received in the Secretary of State’s office.

When you receive your bond, be sure to sign it (on the line for “Principal”) with the signature you will use when notarizing documents.

Step 2
Complete the Application for Appointment as a Montana Notary Public (“Application”). You may fill out the Application online and then print it, or print a copy of the blank Application and fill it out by hand. We encourage you to fill out the Application online because any Application that is illegible will be rejected and returned to you.

When filling out the Application, keep these things in mind:

  • The Application must be filled out completely.
  • The name on your Application must exactly match the name on your bond.
  • The signature on your Application must match the signature on your bond.
  • If you check “Yes” for any question in Part II other than the one about having been previously commissioned as a Montana Notary Public, you must submit explanatory documentation with your Application.

Failing to properly complete the Application will result in the Application being rejected and returned to you.

Step 3
Have your Application notarized. Once your Application is notarized, review the notarization to make sure the Application has been properly notarized. Improperly notarized applications will be rejected and returned to you.

Step 4
Submit your original, notarized Application and all required documentation.

Before submitting your Application, make sure you have included:

  • The $25 non-refundable filing fee
  • Your original, signed bond
  • Your exam certificate
  • Any documentation associated with your answers on Part II of the Application

Step 5
Your Certificate of Commission will be emailed to you at the email address you put on your Application. Once you receive it, obtain your notary seal/stamp and your notary journal.

You may obtain your seal/stamp from most stationery, stamp, or office supply stores. Keep in mind, however, your seal/stamp must meet specific requirements. You may use either a tamper-proof paper or a tamper-evident electronic journal, or both. The Secretary of State has not defined a specific format for the notary journal, so you may choose a design that fits your particular needs. There are several designs on the market; all of them include spaces for the information required by Montana law.

Shop here

https://sosmt.gov/notary/new/

Back to Top

 

 


 

Nebraska

In Nebraska, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

No appointment shall be made if such applicant has been convicted of (a) a felony or (b) a crime involving fraud or dishonesty within the previous five years.

No appointment shall be made until such applicant has attained the age of nineteen years nor unless such applicant certifies to the Secretary of State under oath that he or she has carefully read and understands the laws relating to the duties of notaries public and will, if commissioned, faithfully discharge the duties pertaining to the office and keep records according to law.

No person shall be appointed a notary public unless he or she resides in the State of Nebraska, except that the Secretary of State may appoint and commission a person as a notary public who resides in a state that borders the State of Nebraska if such person is employed in or has a regular place of work or business in this state and the Secretary of State has obtained evidence of an address of the physical location of such employment or place of work or business prior to such appointment and commission.

Each person appointed a notary public shall hold office for a term of four years from the effective date of his or her commission unless sooner removed.

Steps to Obtain a New Notary Commission

1. Request a test from the Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office. Applicants are required to pass a written take-home test to obtain a notary public commission.  The required test is only available through the Secretary of State’s office.

To request a test, please provide the following information:

  • Applicant’s name
  • Applicant’s home address
  • Telephone number (optional)

A test may be requested via one of the following means:

  • E-mail: sos.notary@nebraska.gov.
  • U.S. mail: Notary Division, P.O. Box 95104, Lincoln, NE 68509-5104.
  • Telephone: (402) 471-2558.
  • Fax: (402) 471-4429.

If you do not pass the first test, you will receive a second test automatically.  If you do not pass the first two tests, you must wait six months before requesting the third and final exam.  If you do not pass the third test, you will not be eligible to take the test again or receive a Notary Public commission.

2. Complete the test without assistance from others and return the completed test to the Secretary of State’s Office.  Once scored, you will receive a letter indicating your test results.  Upon passing the test, please submit the following items:

  • Initial application
  • $15,000 surety bond
  • $30.00 commission fee (Payable to: Nebraska Secretary of State or Notary Division)
  • U.S. Citizenship Attestation Form
  • Evidence of Employment in Nebraska Form (Non-residents Only)
  • Please use this address to submit application materials: Notary Division, P.O. Box 95104, Lincoln, NE 68509-5104.
  • All application materials can be found on our website

3. Once your application is approved and processed, you will receive your notary commission certificate via regular U.S. mail.  Take your certificate to any office supply store to order your notary ink stamp seal.

You must use an ink stamp seal engraved with the following:

  • State of Nebraska
  • General Notary or General Notarial
  • Your name as commissioned
  • The expiration date of the commission

Purchase of an errors and omissions policy is optional, and you do not have to provide proof of such coverage to our office.

Shop here

http://www.sos.ne.gov/business/notary/newnotarysteps.html

Back to Top

 

 


 

Nevada

In Nevada, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

To become a notary in the state, you must: be 

(1) at least 18 years of age; 

(2) be a resident of this state; 

(3) possess your civil rights (a felon cannot be a notary); and 

(4) have never had your notary commission revoked in another state.

You must attend a 3-hour online notary training class through the Secretary of State’s Notary Division and pass an exam.

You must also enter into a bond to the State of Nevada in the sum of $10,000 (at a minimum). The bond is filed with the county clerk of the county in which you reside.

You are then given your oath of public office and the clerk gives you a filing notice.

Via the online SilverFlume portal, you must submit an online notary application (signed in blue ink), upload the original filing notice from the county, and submit the application fee of $35 and the training fee of $45.00 to the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State will then issue a Certificate of Appointment.

Each notary must obtain a stamp for authenticating notarial acts. You will need a certified copy of your Certificate of Appointment to obtain a notary stamp. You must also maintain a journal of all transactions. Your application remains on file with the Secretary of State.

Shop here

https://www.nvsos.gov/sos/licensing/notary

Back to Top

 

 


 

New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION   

  • Every person applying to become a notary public must be a resident of New Hampshire
  • You must be at least 18 years of age.   
  • The applicant must sign a written statement under oath as to whether he/she has ever been convicted of a crime that has not been annulled by a court, other than minor traffic violations.   
  • Two notaries public and one registered voter of New Hampshire must endorse the application for appointment.   
  • The applicant must complete a Criminal Record Release Authorization Form.   
  • The fee is $75 for a 5-year commission.  

PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING   

  • The application is obtained from the Secretary of State’s Office.  The Criminal Record Release Authorization Form is part of the application and MUST be completed and submitted with the application. 
  • Complete the application and the Criminal Record Release Authorization Form and return them both to the Secretary of State’s Office with the $75 fee.  
  • Send the ORIGINAL forms.  If you send a copy of either form, it will be returned.  
  • Your request will be treated as follows:   
  • The Criminal Record Release Authorization Form will be submitted to the Department of Safety.   
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for nomination.   
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for appointment.   
  • This process will take 8-10 weeks.  

AFTER COMMISSIONED BY GOVERNOR AND EXECUTIVE COUNCIL   

  • Your commission as a notary public will be for 5 years from the date the Governor and Council confirm your appointment.  The date of appointment will be indicated on your commission.   
  • Within a week after appointment, you will receive your commission, oath, Notary Public Manual and other information from the Secretary of State’s Office.   

You must:   

  • Sign and take your oath of office in the presence of two justices of the peace, or two notaries public,  OR one notary public and one justice of the peace.  Those who sign your oath should also sign your commission.   
  • Return the oath to the Secretary of State’s Office as soon as possible.  Unless we have your oath on file, we cannot certify that you are qualified as a notary.   
  • Keep the commission for your records.  

 

Shop here

http://sos.nh.gov/NP.aspx

Back to Top

 

 


 

New Jersey

In New Jersey, notaries public are appointed by the State Treasurer.

The State Treasurer appoints a notary public for a five-year period and may renew the appointment for five-year increments. Candidates, who must be New Jersey residents and are at least 18 years of age, are sworn into office by the clerk of the county in which the candidate resides.

The State Treasurer may not appoint any person who has been convicted of a crime under the laws of any state or the United States, for an offense involving dishonesty, or a crime of the first or second degree.

Shop here

https://www.nj.gov/treasury/revenue/dcr/programs/notary.shtml

Back to Top

 

 


 

New Mexico

In New Mexico, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

I. Qualifications

    A person applying to be a Notary Public must:

  1. Be a resident of New Mexico;
  2. Be at least 18 years of age;
  3. Be able to read and write the English language;
  4. Not have plead guilty or nolo contendre to a felony or been convicted of a felony; and
  5. Not have had a Notary Public commission revoked during the past five years.

II. Application

 

A.    Download a notary application and instructions.

B.    Affirm that the applicant meets the qualifications set out above.

C.    Order a seal or rubber stamp from an office supply store. An embosser  is made of heavy metal and makes an impression on the paper.

D.    Applications must be completed in black ink only and without background colors of any type. Also, applications which contain liquid paper or any signatures which have been traced or written over will not be accepted.

E.    Complete the application using the applicant's last name and first or middle name, plus an initial or additional name, if desired, or last name and two initials.  Do not include titles on the application, stamp or seal.  Use only the applicant's name.  The applicant's name must be identical to the name on the seal or stamp.

F.    Have two New Mexico residents sign the form attesting to the applicant's good moral character.

G.    The applicant takes the oath before a Notary Public or other person authorized to administer oaths.  The name and signature on the oath must be identical to the name and signature on the bond application and the name on the notarial seal or stamp.  The Notary Public who notarizes the applicant's oath must sign his/her name, affix his/her seal, and enter his/her complete expiration date.

H.    Each notary public is required to obtain a ten thousand dollar ($10,000) surety bond which can be purchased from an insurance company.  Each surety bond must contain:

  1. The applicant signs as the principal and his/her signature must be notarized
  2. An official of the insurance company must sign and provide his/her title.  His/her signature also must be notarized (Acknowledgment for Insurance Company);
  3. The insurance company's corporate seal must appear on the surety bond;
  4. A power of attorney from the insurance company, with the name of the company official who signed the surety bond, must accompany application and surety bond.
  1. Return the completed application, surety bond, power of attorney, and a check or money order in the mount of $20.00 payable to the Secretary  of State.

 

Shop here

http://web.sos.state.nm.us/Business_Services/Information_for_Notary_Public.aspx

Back to Top

 

 


 

New York

In New York, notaries public are licensed by the Secretary of State.

An applicant for a notary public commission must submit to the Division of Licensing Services an original application and $60 fee. The application includes an oath of office, which must be sworn and notarized. In addition to the application form and fee, the applicant must have taken and passed the notary public examination. Examinations are regularly scheduled throughout the state. An individual who is currently a member of the New York State Bar or a court clerk of the Unified Court System, appointed to that position after taking a Civil Service promotional examination in the court clerk series of titles, while not exempt from the application fee, may be appointed a notary public without an examination. The term of commission is four years. Every person appointed as notary public must, at the time of his or her appointment, be a citizen or permanent resident alien of the United States and either a resident of New York or have an office or place of business in New York State.

Generally, a person convicted of felony cannot be appointed as a notary public. Also, certain misdemeanors are considered disqualifying. However, should a person convicted of any crime obtain an executive pardon, a certificate of relief from disabilities, or a certificate of good conduct from the parole board, he or she may be considered for appointment.

Shop here

https://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/notary/notary.html

Back to Top

 

 


 

North Carolina

In North Carolina, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

A person qualified for a notarial commission shall meet all of the following requirements:

(1) Be at least 18 years of age or legally emancipated as defined in Article 35 of Chapter 7B of the General Statutes.

(2) Reside or have a regular place of work or business in this State.

(3) Reside legally in the United States.

(4) Speak, read, and write the English language.

(5) Possess a high school diploma or equivalent.

(6) Pass the course of instruction described in this Article, unless the person is a licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar.

(7) Purchase and keep as a reference the most recent manual approved by the Secretary that describes the duties and authority of notaries public.

(8) Submit an application containing no significant misstatement or omission of fact, along with the $50 fee. The application form shall be provided by the Secretary and be available at the register of deeds office in each county. Every application shall include the signature of the applicant written with pen and ink, and the signature shall be acknowledged by the applicant before a person authorized to administer oaths.

 

Every applicant for an initial notary commission shall, within the three months preceding application, take a course of classroom instruction of not less than six hours approved by the Secretary and take a written examination approved by the Secretary. An applicant must answer at least eighty percent (80%) of the questions correctly in order to pass the exam. This subsection shall not apply to a licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar.

A person commissioned under this Chapter may perform notarial acts in any part of this State for a term of five years, unless the commission is earlier revoked or resigned.

Shop here

https://www.sosnc.gov/divisions/notary/become_a_notary

Back to Top

 

 


 

North Dakota

In North Dakota, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

To become a notary public, a person must be:

  1. At least 18 years of age;
  2. A citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States;
  3. A resident of North Dakota, have a place of employment or practice in North Dakota or reside in a county that borders North Dakota and which is in a state that extends reciprocity to a notary public who resides in a border county of North Dakota. (If the applicant resides in a county bordering North Dakota, the applicant appoints the Secretary of State as the agent for service of process, for all purposes relating to notarial acts, including the receipt of correspondence relating to notarial acts); and
  4. Able to read and write in English

 

If a person meets the above requirements, he or she may apply for a notary public commission by filing the following documents with the Secretary of State:

  1. Notary Application (SFN 11001) – The application should be in the notary's name in which he or she will notarize documents. The application includes a section in which the applicant must sign an affidavit stating that he or she meets the qualifications to be a notary public. As a part of the application, the notary is required to take an oath of office because the notary becomes an officer of the state when commissioned. Both the affidavit and oath must be signed in the presence of a commissioned notary public.
  2. Notary Bond (SFN 19355) – The notary bond must be in the amount of $7,500 conditioned on the faithful discharge of the duties of the office and must cover notarial acts performed during the term of the notary public's commission.

The application fee is $36 payable to the Secretary of State. Credit card payments made by mail must be accompanied by a completed Credit Card Payment Authorization (SFN 51478).

After the application, surety bond, and application fee have been received and approved, a certificate of authorization will be issued to the applicant allowing the applicant to purchase a notary stamping device from a vendor of his or her choice.  When the stamping device is received back from the vendor, the applicant must affix an impression of the notary stamping device to the verification of notary stamping device form (included with the certificate of authorization), and return the verification form to the Secretary of State's office on or before the date indicated on the verification form.

After the verification form is received and approved, a notary commission will be issued to the applicant.  Receipt of the stamping device from the vendor does not make the applicant a notary public.  When the applicant receives the commission, he or she may begin using the stamping device on or after the commencement date listed on the commission certificate.

Shop here

http://sos.nd.gov/notaries-public/how-become-notary-public

Back to Top

 

 


 

Ohio

In Ohio, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

New applicants for notary commissions will be required to obtain a criminal records check, current within six months of application. If the report shows no disqualifying offenses, then the applicant may proceed to an authorized education and testing provider for a three-hour class and pass a test.

Following the successful completion of the education program, the applicant will file an application electronically with our office.

In Ohio the requirements to become a notary vary by county. The application may be found on our website, but you will be required to comply with the requirements set forth by your county to obtain a signature from a judge to accompany your application. You can find the phone number for your county for more information on the website as well. Upon completion of the application it may be mailed to our office with a check for $15.00 to obtain your commission. 

Upon receipt of your commission from the Ohio Secretary of State, you must file it with the Clerk of Court of Common Pleas of the county in which you reside prior to performing a notarial act.

Prior to the expiration date of your commission you must complete the renewal application and file it with a $15.00 fee so that your commission remains active. If you fail to renew the commission prior to the expiration date, you are not permitted to perform a notarial act. You must file a new application and obtain a new commission. 

Shop here

https://www.sos.state.oh.us/notary/new-commissions-commission-renewals/

Back to Top

 

 


 

Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

Under Oklahoma law, a notary public is appointed and commissioned by the Secretary of State. In order to be commissioned as a notary, an individual must: 1. be a legal resident of Oklahoma, or an out-ofstate resident who is employed within Oklahoma; 2. be 18 years of age or older; 3. have not been convicted of a felony; and 4. be able to read and write in English. The application form can be obtained from the Office of the Secretary of State and through our website. The completed application with the $25.00 filing fee may be filed with the Secretary of State in person, by mail or via our website. A black & white notary commission will be mailed to the applicant upon approval and processing of the application.

The Oklahoma Secretary of State shall appoint and commission notaries public, who shall hold their office for four (4) years.

Before a person can act as a notary and no more than sixty (60) days after the issuance of his/her commission, he/she must file a $1,000.00 surety bond, an oath of office, loyalty oath and a $10.00 filing fee with the Office of the Secretary of State. The bond must be issued for a term that commences on the bond's effective date and terminates on the commission's expiration date. The notarial bond may be purchased from an insurance agency or bonding company. The notary may instead choose to have the bond signed by one or more sureties who are property owners in the notary’s county of residence, or in the case of a non-resident, the county of employment. The bond must be approved by the Secretary of State. Blank bond forms are available on the Secretary of State's website

Shop here

https://sos.ok.gov/notary/default.aspx

Back to Top

 

 


 

Oregon

In Oregon, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

To be a notary public in Oregon, you must meet certain qualifications at the time of application:​

  • 18 years of age or older.
  • Resident of Oregon or have a place of employment or practice in this state.
  • Able to read and write English.
  • Never had a notary public commission revoked during the 10-year period preceding the application date.
  • Completed a notary training course within the last 6 months. Public Education seminars or approved education providers are required.

Note: Not required of current Oregon notaries with an active commission at the time the new application is received in our office.

  • Never convicted of a felony or crime involving fraud, dishonesty or deceit during the 10-year period preceding the application date.
  • Passed the Secretary of State’s Notary Public examination​.
  • Not have been convicted of:
  • Acting as or otherwise impersonating a notary public
  • Obstructing governmental or judicial administration
  • Engaging in the unlawful practice of law
  • Not have been found by a court to have:
  • Practiced law without a license in a suit
  • ​Engaged in an unlawful trade practice

 

Shop here

https://sos.oregon.gov/business/Pages/notary.aspx

Back to Top

 

 


 

Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

An applicant must meet the following eligibility requirements for appointment as a notary public:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States
  • Be a resident of or have a place of employment or practice in this Commonwealth
  • Be able to read and write English
  • Not be disqualified to receive a commission because of character, criminal convictions or prior sanctions

Education – All applicants for both initial appointment and reappointment as a notary public must complete at least three hours of approved notary education within the six months immediately preceding the application for appointment or reappointment

Examination – All applicants for a commission as a notary public who do not hold a current and unexpired commission in this Commonwealth must pass an examination administered by the Department’s examination vendor Pearson VUE

A notary public applicant will not be issued a notary public commission unless the applicant:

  • Has submitted an application on a form prescribed and furnished by the Secretary of the Commonwealth accompanied by the $42 nonrefundable filing fee
  • Has verified that he or she has the honesty, integrity, competence and reliability to act as a notary public
  • Has not made a fraudulent, dishonest or deceitful misstatement or omission in the application
  • Has provided proof of completion of a three-hour preapproved notary public course within six months preceding application
  • Has passed the examination (for applicants who have never held notary commissions and all applicants who previously held notary commissions but whose commissions have lapsed or expired at the time their application for reappointment is received by the Department)
  • Has not been convicted of or accepted Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition for a felony or an offense involving fraud, dishonesty or deceit
  • Has not had a finding against or admission of liability in a legal proceeding or disciplinary action based on the fraud, dishonesty or deceit of the applicant or notary public
  • Has not failed to discharge a duty required of a notary public, whether by RULONA, by regulation of the department or by Federal or State law
  • Has not used false or misleading advertising or representation representing that the notary public has a duty, right or privilege that the notary public does not have
  • Has not violated a regulation of the Department
  • Has not been denied a commission, refused to renew, revoked, suspended or otherwise had a notary commission disciplined by the Commonwealth or any other state
  • Has failed to maintain a bond

Allow at least 4 to 6 weeks for processing new notary public applications.

Upon appointment, the Department of State will send notice of appointment to the applicant, with further instructions and an official bond and oath form to be executed by the applicant. These materials will be sent to the applicant’s employer/business address as provided on the application.

The applicant must take the oath of office and record his/her oath, completed bond and commission in the Recorder of Deeds in the county where the notary’s business office is located. The applicant must also register his/her signature with the Prothonotary’s office in the county where the notary’s business office is located. Both of these steps must be completed within forty-five (45) calendar days after the date of appointment, or the notary’s commission becomes null and void. Extensions will not be given.

Only after all these steps have been completed may an individual serve as an official notary public. If an appointee fails to record the oath, completed bond and commission or fails to register his/her signature within forty-five (45) days, the individual will be required to reapply to become a notary public by submitting a new application, the application fee and meeting all other requirements for appointment to a new commission and a new appointment date.

The $42 application fee is non-refundable and may not be applied to a new application after the 45-day period has expired. If the application, bonding, recording and oath taking steps have been properly completed, the notary commission expires four years after the date of appointment.

Shop here

https://www.dos.pa.gov/OtherServices/Notaries/NotaryServices/Pages/default.aspx

Back to Top

 

 


 

Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

Requirements:

  • Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States;
  • Be a resident of or have a place of employment or practice in this state;
  • Be able to read and write English;
  • Not be disqualified to receive a commission; and
  • Demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the powers and duties of a notary public

 

How to Apply:

Get your application ready

  • Visit our website, review our educational resources and take the “Notary Knowledge Today” assessment to demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the powers and duties to the requirements of this chapter.
  • Complete and print the Notary Application Form
  • You must appear before a Rhode Island Notary Public to take the Oath of Office and complete the certificate.  Notaries are available at our office to perform this service.

Fee

  • $80 Non-refundable.

Submit your application

  • Mail or bring your application to the RI Department of State
     

Once your completed application is received by our office, it is processed within 3-5 business days and then your commission will be mailed to the address on the application.

Shop here

http://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/notary-public/become-a-notary

Back to Top

 

 


 

South Carolina

In South Carolina, notaries public are commissioned by the Secretary of State.

A person qualified for a notarial commission:

(1) must be a registered voter in this State;

(2) shall read and write the English language; and

(3) shall submit an application containing no significant misstatement or omission of fact. The application form must be provided by the Secretary and must include the signature of the applicant written with pen and ink, and the signature must be acknowledged as the applicant's by a person authorized to administer oaths.

Carefully type or print legibly all information requested on the top portion of your application and sign in the presence of a notary public.

Attach a $25.00 check or money order payable to “Secretary of State” to your application.

Mail the application and check or money order to your county delegation for the required signatures. Your delegation office will forward your application and check or money order to the Secretary of State’s Office.  Allow your county delegation office two to six weeks processing time.  The delegation office must verify the notary applicant's name with the elections commission and obtain the necessary legislative signatures.

After your application is processed, the Secretary of State’s Office will mail your commission to the mailing address provided on your application.

Shop here

http://sos.sc.gov/Notaries

Back to Top

 

 


 

South Dakota

In South Dakota, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

Steps to become a Notary Public:

Obtain your notary seal

  • Can be rubber or embossing stamp that reflects your name as you will be commissioned under and sign by.
  • Must include your name and the words "Notary Public" and "South Dakota." If the seal is a rubber stamp it must also include the word "seal".
  • DO NOT include an expiration date inside the border of the seal.

 

Complete the Notary Application

  • Make an imprint of your seal in the box at the top left of the form.
  • Complete your name EXACTLY as it appears on your seal.
  • Complete the address, city, state and zip, and county. This MUST be your physical residence address. A post office box or your mailing address alone is not acceptable, but may be included for mailing purposes.
  • If you reside at an address in an out-of-state county bordering South Dakota, complete the Employer/Business Name and South Dakota Business Address. This MUST be a South Dakota address.
  • Complete the question if you have been a South Dakota Notary before, and if yes, enter your commission expiration date. Also, enter any name(s) you were previously commissioned under.
  • Enter your date of birth.
  • Answer whether you have ever been convicted of a felony.
  • NOTE: Failure to answer any of these questions correctly or leaving them blank will cause your application to be rejected.

Complete the Oath portion of the application

  • Enter your county of residence. If you reside at an out-of-state county bordering South Dakota, enter the county of your employer/business name.
  • Enter your name exactly as it is on your seal and as it is entered in the top section.
  • Date the application
  • Sign the Oath with your name EXACTLY as it appears on your seal.

Complete the Bond

  • For a six-year, $5,000 surety bond, contact a local insurance company to obtain a policy.
    • Complete the Bond section of the application, listing your name exactly as it appears on your seal and as it is entered in the top section.
    • Date the section.
    • BOTH you and the surety must sign. Your signature must be EXACTLY as it appears on your seal.
    • Do not complete the second page of the application.
    • If you prefer the personal surety, do not complete this section.
  • Instead of purchasing a notary bond through an insurance company, you may complete the personal surety.
    • Do not complete the Bond section of the application.
    • Complete the Personal Surety Form on the second page.
    • A personal surety can be a friend, relative, spouse or co-worker whom will sign on their own behalf and be liable for your $5000 bond if you perform any unlawful acts with your notary commission.
    • A personal surety cannot be a company, business or organization.
    • Both you and the personal surety must sign the form, with each of your signatures being separately notarized.
    • A personal surety cannot have his/her name removed for any reason.
    • A Notary cannot be their own personal surety.

Enclose the $30.00 filing fee

  • Make checks payable to Secretary of State.

Send completed application with bond and payment to:

  • Secretary of State

 

Shop here

https://sdsos.gov/general-services/notary-public/how-become-notary.aspx

 

Back to Top

 

 


 

Tennessee

In Tennessee, notaries public are elected by the county legislative body in the county in which the applicant, at the time of his/her election, resides or maintains his/her principal place of business. 

An application and a fee (part of which will go the County Clerk's office and part to the Secretary of State) must be submitted to the County Clerk. The County Clerk certifies an election of the applicant by the county legislative body and forwards the certification and the State fee to the Secretary of State, Division of Business Services. Upon receipt of the election certification and the State fee from the County Clerk, the Division of Business Services prepares, records and forwards to the County Clerk the notary commission signed by the Governor and the Secretary of State. The County Clerk records the notary commission and notifies the person to whom the commission was issued. After an oath has been taken and bond posted, the County Clerk delivers the notary commission to the person elected. 

A Notary's term of office is four years, beginning on the date that the notary commission is issued by the Governor.

How to Become a Notary

  • Obtain and complete an application from your County Clerk's office.
  • Submit the completed application to your County Clerk with the application fee of $12 ($7 for the County Clerk and $5 for the Secretary of State).
  • Be elected by the county legislative body (county commission) in the county in which the applicant, resides or maintains his/her principal place of business at the time of his/her election.
  • Secure a surety bond.  Bonds are available through Tennessee insurance companies/agencies that sell surety bond coverage.
  • Provide proof of the bond to the County Clerk.  Your documents will be submitted to the state.  The Secretary of State’s office will issue the Notary Commission and return it to the County Clerk’s office for you to pick up.    
  • Obtain your Notary seal.  Your County Clerk may be able to assist you.

 

Shop here

https://sos.tn.gov/products/business-services/how-become-notary

Back to Top

 

 


 

Texas

In Texas, notaries public are commissioned by the Secretary of State.

Who is eligible to become a notary public?

To be commissioned as a notary public in Texas, you must be a Texas resident at least 18 years of age who has not received a final conviction for a crime involving moral turpitude or a felony.

How do I become a notary public?

If you meet the eligibility requirements, submit the following to the secretary of state:

  1. Completed Form 2301 (available from the secretary of state, county clerk, or your insurance agency or surety company);
  2. Proof of a $10,000 surety bond; and
  3. Filing fee of $21.

Once you are commissioned, you may purchase your required notary seal and record book from any office supply company.

Shop here

https://www.sos.state.tx.us/statdoc/notary-public.shtml

Back to Top

 

 


 

Utah

In Utah, notaries public are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor.

To become a Notary Public in the State of Utah, you must meet all of the following qualifications:

  • Be 18 years of age or older.
  • Be a U.S citizen or have permanent resident status under Section 245 of the Immigration and Nationality Act.
  • Lawfully reside in this state 30 days immediately preceding the filing for notarial commission and maintain permanent residency thereafter.
  • Be able to read, write, and understand English.
  • Pay for and pass the online exam.
  • Submit an application, bond, and Oath of Office to the Lieutenant Governor’s office containing no significant misstatement or omission of facts.

Notary Process

Step 1 Study for the test

Step 2 Create Your Account

Step 3 Take – Pay for – Pass the Test

  • After taking the test, immediately be ready to pay the testing and administration fee of $95*. Once you pay, your test is automatically submitted and the results are immediate. When you pass the test you will be able to print your application.
  • If you fail you get your results and then you must pay an additional testing fee of $40 each time until you pass the test. (Note: this offer will only be good for 30 days from the date of the first test.)

Step 4 Print out Your Application

  • Make sure you review your application. If there are any changes needed to be made, cross it out and write in the corrected information.
  • Sign and date the bottom of the application.

Step 5 Obtain Your $5,000 Notarial Bond

Step 6 Get Your Oath of Office Notarized

Step 7 Submit the Required Documents

  • Application (Double check your information. Your certificate of Authority of Notary Public will be emailed to the email address listed on your application)
  • Original Bond
  • Notarized Oath of Office

Once all steps are complete the Office of the Lieutenant Governor will email you your Certificate of Authority.

Shop here

https://notary.utah.gov/qualifications-and-process/

Back to Top

 

 


 

Vermont

In Vermont, notaries public are licensed by the Secretary of State through the Office of Professional Regulation (OPR).

Under the new law, notaries public must apply for a new commission through the Office of Professional Regulation rather than renew their old notary public commission.  All applications for a new notary public commission will need to be submitted online with the Office of Professional Regulation by January 31, 2019.  Town and county clerks and other agencies are no longer accepting notary public commission renewals.

  1. You will need to create an account (if you have not already) on OPR’s online licensing system or log into an existing account. Click here to access OPR’s online licensing system. Do not create an additional account if you already have one.
  2.  Once logged in, click Apply for Individual License and complete the online application. You will be asked to answer questions within the application and to upload a copy of your signed and notarized Oath of Office. To complete the application, you will need to pay a $15.00 fee with a debit card, credit card or ACH (savings or checking account).
  3.  OPR will notify you by email if there are additional items required for your application. You may check your application status online for more information.
  4.  You will be notified by email once your application is approved. Your commission is available for printing through your online licensing account.

 

Prior to submitting your application, you must

a.   Be at least 18 years of age.

b.   Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States.

c.   Be a Vermont resident of or have a place of employment or practice in Vermont.

Shop here

https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-of-professions/notaries-public.aspx

 

Back to Top

 

 


 

Virginia

In Virginia, notaries public are commissioned by the Secretary of the Commonwealth.

To be eligible to apply for a Virginia Notary Public Commission, you must be:

(1) at least eighteen years old,

(2) able to read and write the English language,

(3) be a legal resident of the United States,

(4) live or work in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and

(5) have not been convicted of a felony. Any person who has ever been convicted of a felony under the laws of the United States or this Commonwealth, or the laws of any other state, shall not qualify to be appointed and commissioned as a Virginia Notary Public unless such person has had his/her rights restored.

Virginia is a “self certifying state” and does not require classes or testing to qualify to become a notary public.

Notary Application Process

Notary Application Process is for a first time notary, a notary who is more than 30 days passed their commission expiration date, and/or a notary who has changed their name

We recommend creating a Notary Management Account to create your notary application and manage your notary information. The Notary Management account log-in/creation link and the application link are located below the application instructions.

  • Answer the interview questions found on the online application (Notary Application Wizard). All questions must be complete in order for application to be processed.
  • Print the pdf application generated at the end of the online application. You will be given the opportunity to pay by credit card at the end of the interview process. Be sure you are able to open and print the pdf application before paying online. The barcode number on your printed application must match the invoice number found on your receipt to ensure proper payment on your account. If you do not pay by credit card, you may pay the application fee by check or money order.
  • Have your signature properly notarized by a Virginia Notary on Part 3 of your printed application. This must be done prior to mailing your application to our office for processing.
  • Mail the completed, notarized application along with application fee– payment receipt or check/money order payment of $45 (payable to Treasurer of Virginia) to the notary office. NOTE: This is an application fee and is not refundable, transferable, and cannot be applied to another application.  Our office cannot begin processing an application until we receive a completed, notarized paper application by mail.
  • Contact the Circuit Court to take your oath and be sworn in. Our office will send out a notification letter to the preferred mailing address (home, business, email) selected by you on your application to let you know your application has been approved. At that time, you will need to contact the Circuit Court you selected on your application to verify that they have received your commission and to make arrangements to take the oath. There is a $10 fee paid at that time to the court.
  • General turnaround time for processing a completed application is about 2 1/2 to 3 weeks. By law, you must claim your commission within 60 days after it is issued. If you fail to do so you must submit a new application and a new fee to become a Notary. Sometimes notices are lost in the mail or email. Failure to receive a notice will not permit you to receive a commission after the 60-day period has expired.
  • Please note, if you are a notary whose commission expires in first few months of the calendar year (January, February, March), you should submit your application after the start of the new year. Applications approved prior to January will result in the commission expiring one year earlier than anticipated.

 

Shop here

https://www.commonwealth.virginia.gov/official-documents/notary-commissions/notary-application-process/

Back to Top

 

 


 

Washington

In Washington, notaries public are licensed by the Department of Licensing.

How to get your notary public license

You must be:

  • At least 18 years of age
  • Able to read and write English
  • A citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States
  • Live in Washington State, or have a place of employment or practice in Washington

 

How to apply

Get a $10,000 surety bond from any insurance company qualified to write surety bonds in Washington. Also, make sure the surety bond:

  • Covers your 4-year notary public term.
  • Shows your name and it matches your name and signature on the application.
  • Is separate from Errors and Omissions Insurance. We only need proof of the surety bond.
  •  

Complete a Notary Public Commission Application.

Send us all of the following:

  • Completed, signed application.
  • Copy of your surety bond. (Don't send us your Errors and Omissions policy.)
  • A check or money order payable to the 'Department of Licensing' for:
  • $30 - not applying for an endorsement
  • $45 - applying for an endorsement

 

Allow 30 days for us to process your application.

Shop here

https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/notary/nrequirements.html

Back to Top

 

 


 

West Virginia

In West Virginia, notaries public are commissioned by the Secretary of State.

The eligibility requirements for appointment as a notary public in West Virginia require a person must:

  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States;
  • Be a resident of West Virginia, or a resident of another state who works at an office address within West Virginia;
  • Be able to read and write English;
  • Have a high school diploma or its equivalent;
  • Not be disqualified to receive a commission pursuant to West Virginia Code 

Application Steps

The following steps must be completed before a person can lawfully begin to notarize documents.

  • Read the Notary Public Law
  • Complete the Application(s)
  • Submit the Completed Application and Payment
  • Receive Commission Letter and Check Your Seal
  • Review the Notary Handbook

 

Shop here

https://sos.wv.gov/business/Pages/NotaryApp.aspx

Back to Top

 

 


 

Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, notaries public are licensed by the Department of Financial Institutions.

General Requirements:

In order to become a Notary Public under Wisconsin Statute, you must be

  • a resident of the United States,
  • 18 years of age or older,
  • have at least the equivalent of an eighth grade education,
  • pass the online Notary Public exam with 90% or better, (this can be taken an unlimited number of times until you pass) and
  • have demonstrated adherence to laws according to Wisconsin Statutes with regard to arrests/citations/convictions. (Note that under current law, persons convicted in state or federal court of a felony, or persons convicted of a misdemeanor involving a violation of the public trust, may not be commissioned as notaries public for the State of Wisconsin unless they have been pardoned of the conviction.)

You must purchase:

  • an engraved official seal or official rubber stamp that only contains “State of Wisconsin,” “Notary Public” and your printed name that must include your full current last name. No title such as “Dr.” or “CPA” should appear before or after your name.
  • a $500.00 bond.

You must complete and submit the following:

  • Four-year Notary Public Commission Application
  • Notary Bond Form o Oath of Office Form o Certificate from passing the Notary Exam with 90% or better taken within 1 year of the date of submission of the application.
  • $20 filing fee made payable to the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions (if not already submitted electronically)

 

Shop here

https://wdfi.org/Apostilles_Notary_Public_and_Trademarks/defaultNotary.htm

Back to Top

 

 


 

Wyoming

In Wyoming, notaries public are appointed by the Secretary of State.

How do I become a Notary?

1. Complete the PDF application on your computer. Print it out. Make sure your signature matches the Commission Name Style as listed on Item 1 of the application. 

2. Mail the application along with a fee of $30 (check/money order) to this Office.

3. In about 3-5 days after this Office receives and processes your application, we will mail notification to the mailing address on the application. After receiving notification, you may purchase a $500 notary bond available from most insurance companies. 

4. Take the bond to the County Clerk's Office in the county you reside to be filed. The bond must be recorded by the County Clerk within 60 days of the beginning date of your commission.

5. Once you receive your notary certificate from the County Clerk, purchase a notary stamp (ink or embossed) at an office supply/copy store, print shop or notary supply company. Do not order a stamp before you know your commissioning dates. 

6. The term of the notary commission ends in 4 years. It may be reissued for another term upon application (see renewal link on this page). 


Who can be a Wyoming Notary?

You must be:

  • At least eighteen (18) years of age;
  • A resident of the State of Wyoming and the county from which you are making application;
  • Able to read and write the English language;
  • A convicted felon is not eligible to be a notary unless the felony conviction has been:
    • Reversed or annulled;
    • Pardoned

Additional Information

  • Total cost includes:
    • $30 fee paid to the Secretary of State;
    • Bond fee (paid to insurance company);
    • County filing fee for bond (paid to the County Clerk); and
    • Cost of a notary stamp (paid to the office or notary supply store).

 

Shop here

http://soswy.state.wy.us/Forms/NotariesPublic/WYNotaryApp.pdf

Back to Top